August 1964 Proceedings Magazine: United States Naval Institute

August 1964 Proceedings Magazine: United States Naval Institute



August, 1964

Front Cover: The nuclear-poweredcruiser USS Long Beach (CGN-9) is seen at full speed in this month's cover painting by C. G. Evers. For more about the ship and the painting, see pages 91-111 and page 130.

Table of Contents

  • Clausewitz, Cuba and Command
    By Paul R. Schratz, Capt., USN
  • The Wit to See
    By M. Eckhart, Jr., Cdr., USN
  • Offensive Mining as a Soviet Strategy
    By Charles W. Saar, Cdr., USN
  • Trieste—The First Ten Years
    By George W. Martin, Lt., USN
  • The Restless Mind
    By M. J. Travers, Cdr., USN
  • Diminishing Returns in the CVA
    By John T. Henrizi, Lt., USN
  • Operation Forager
    By Sherwood R. Zimmerman, Ens., USN
  • USS Long Beach (CGN-9) (Pictorial)
  • Comment and Discussion
  • Book Reviews
  • Professional Reading
  • Book List
  • Professional Notes
  • Notebook
  • Progress
  • Page from the Old Navy
  • Index to Advertisers
  • Secretary's Notes

For the advancement of professional, literary, and scientific knowledge in the Navy

U. S. Naval Institute Staff
Cdr. R. T. E. Bowler, Jr., U. S. Navy (Retired)
Managing Editor Roger C. Taylor
A. Denis Clift
Assistant Editors Clayton R. Barrow, Jr. Norman Polmar
Katherine McInnis
Associate Editors
Capt. Sheldon H. Kinney, U. S. Navy Prof. C. P. Lemieux, U. S. Naval Academy
Lt. Cdr. Arnold S. Lott, U. S. Navy (Ret.)
Assistant Editors Dorothy Williams Joyce Atwood
Editorial Assistant Louise Gerretson
Frank Uhlig, Jr.
Editorial Assistant Mary Veronica Amoss
David Q. Scott
Assistants Delroy Kiser
Walter Paiko Gerard Valerio
Promotion Manager Fred Stolley
Business Manager H. Gordon Williams
Advertising Representative
Thomas 0. Woolf, Inc.
225 Park Ave., New York 17, N. Y.
3376 West First Street, Los Angeles, California
The U. S. Naval Institute is a private, professional society for all who are interested in naval and maritime affairs. It is a self-supporting, non-profit organization and is not a part of the U. S. Navy Department.
The opinions or assertions in the articles are the personal ones of the authors and are not to be construed as official. They do not necessarily reflect the views of either the Navy Department or the United States Naval Institute.
All photographs, unless otherwise credited, are Official Department of Defense releases.
Editorial and Business Offices: Annapolis, Maryland.
Published monthly by the United States Naval
Institute. Second-class postage paid at the Post
Office in MENASHA, WISCONSIN, and at addi-
tional mailing office, under act of August 24, 1912. Acceptance for mailing at the special rate of postage provided for in section 1103, Act of October 3, 1917, authorized March 13, 1922.
Membership dues for the U. S. Naval Institute (including PROCEEDINGS), $5.00 a year.
Subscription rate $7.00 a year. (Foreign postage, $1.00 extra.) Single copies current year seventy-five cents. Single copies previous years one dollar.
Copyright @ 1964 by U. S. Naval Institute.

Board of Control,
Admiral David L. McDonald, U. S. Navy
Rear Admiral Charles S. Minter, Jr., U. S. Navy
Commander R. T. E. Bowler, Jr., U. S. Navy (Retired)
Major General Henry W. Buse, Jr., U. S. Marine Corps
Rear Admiral Allen M. Shinn, U. S. Navy Rear Admiral William P. Mack, U. S. Navy Captain Robert W. McNitt, U. S. Navy Captain Edward L. Beach, U. S. Navy Captain William F. Cass, U. S. Coast Guard
Past Presidents
Admiral David D. Porter 1873
Rear Admiral John L. Worden 1874
Rear Admiral C. R. P. Rodgers 1875-78, 1882-83 Commodore Foxhall A. Parker 1878-79
Rear Admiral John Rodgers 1879-82
Rear Admiral Thornton A. Jenkins 1883-85 Rear Admiral Edward Simpson 1885-87 Rear Admiral Stephen B. Luce 1887-98 Rear Admiral Wm. T. Sampson 1898-1902
Rear Admiral H. C. Taylor 1902-1904 Rear Admiral C. F. Goodrich 1904-1909
Rear Admiral Richard Wainwright 1909-11 Rear Admiral Bradley A. Fiske 1911-23 Vice Admiral William L. Rodgers 1923-24 Admiral Henry B. Wilson 1924-26
Admiral Hilary P. Jones 1926-28
Rear Admiral Edward W. Eberle 1928-29 Admiral S. S. Robison 1929-31
Rear Admiral M. L. Bristol 1931-33 Admiral William H. Standley 1933-35 Admiral David Foote Sellers 1935-37 Fleet Admiral William D. Leahy 1937-40 Admiral H. R. Stark 1940-42
Fleet Admiral Chester W. Nimitz 1942-43,1946-48 Fleet Admiral E. J. King 1943-46
Admiral Louis E. Denfeld 1948-50
Admiral Robert B. Carney 1950-52,1954-56 Admiral William M. Fechteler 1952-54 Admiral Arleigh A. Burke 1956-59,1960-61 Admiral Jerauld Wright 1959-60
Admiral George W. Anderson, Jr. 1961-63

Return to Top of Page

Naval Institute Proceedings 1945-1999
GG Archives

Proceedings Archive 1945-1959

Proceedings Archive 1960s

Proceedings Archive 1970s

Proceedings Archive 1980-1999

U.S. Navy Magazines

Other Navy Topics

USN Special Collections Topics